Last Page Visited

Accepting Applications for Board Members

Bookmark and Share
Fox Valley Technical College (FVTC) is accepting applications until 4:00 p.m. on Wednesday, February 26 for three upcoming vacancies on the College’s District Board of Trustees. The openings are for two additional members and one elected official. Each position’s term runs from July 1, 2014 through June 30, 2017.

Mark Harris of Oshkosh, who currently serves as Winnebago Country Executive, holds the elected official position on the Board that is up for reappointment. He has been a member of the FVTC Board since July 1, 2011.

Catherine Tierney of Appleton holds one of the two additional member positions up for reappointment on the Board, and she currently serves as board chair. Tierney, who is president and CEO of Community First Credit Union, was appointed to the FVTC Board in September 2007.

Craig Wussow holds the other additional member position on the Board up for reappointment. Wussow is a journeyman pipefitter at Appvion, Inc. and has served on the FVTC Board since July 2008.

The FVTC District is governed by a nine-member board comprised of two employers, two employees, three additional (at-large) members, a school district administrator, and an elected official. Each year, the terms for three board posts expire.

Timelines and procedures for the 2014 application process were established by the District’s Board Appointment Committee, made up of school board presidents from the 28 K-12 districts within FVTC’s service area. According to the application process guidelines, each applicant must submit a notarized affidavit, resume, and at least two letters of recommendation to Sharon Fenlon, Board Appointment Chairperson, c/o Fox Valley Technical College, P.O. Box 2277, Appleton, WI 54912-2277 by 4:00 p.m. on February 26.

Eligible candidates must reside within the FVTC District, which includes the K-12 school districts of Appleton, Brillion, Chilton, Clintonville, Freedom, Hilbert, Hortonville, Iola-Scandinavia, Kaukauna, Kimberly, Little Chute, Manawa, Marion, Menasha, Neenah, New London, Omro, Oshkosh, Seymour, Shiocton, Stockbridge, Waupaca, Wautoma, Westfield, Weyauwega-Fremont, Wild Rose, Winneconne, and Wrightstown.

Equal consideration is given to the general population distribution within the FVTC District and to the distribution of women and minority members. Prospective applicants are invited to an informational session at 5:00 p.m. on Wednesday, February 19 in Room A104S of FVTC’s Appleton Campus, 1825 N. Bluemound Drive (enter through Entrance 18 and follow the signs). Topics will include an overview of FVTC, the role of board members, time commitment, and the application process.

Once the application materials are received, they will be examined to verify candidates’ eligibility and then distributed to the committee members for review. The next step in the process includes a public hearing conducted by the Board Appointment Committee at 6:30 p.m. on Thursday, March 20 in Room HS114B at FVTC’s Appleton Campus, 1825 N. Bluemound, Appleton. Per state statutes, applicants must be present for appointment consideration. During the hearing, each candidate will make a brief oral presentation not to exceed five minutes and respond to questions from the Appointment Committee.

Application forms are available by contacting Vicky Van Hout, board appointment coordinator, at (920) 735-5731 or by e-mail at Applicants can also visit to obtain the necessary forms.