Last Page Visited

IT Students Again Turn Heads at Nationals

Bookmark and Share
For the third consecutive year, Information Technology (IT) students representing Fox Valley Technical College’s Association of Information Technology Professionals (AITP) student club earned a national first-place finish at the annual AITP conference, held this year in Orlando. The conference featured student teams from more than 60 two-year and four-year colleges and universities, comprised of nearly 450 students.

FVTC’s first-place award was in the Professional Banner category, which included students Joyce Sexton, Michelle Benz, Joel Booker, Colin Rubbert, Ryan Day, Stewart Jackson, and Jesse Krisenesky. The college also earned a second-place award in the Artistic Banner competition, and an honorable mention in the Graphic Communications Web contest.

Brenda Wilz, It instructor, was named 2011 AITP Faculty Advisor of the Year for her ongoing efforts in leading FVTC’s club in community projects, outreach, exceptional national competition results, and more.

During the conference, student Michelle Benz of Weyauwega received a Robert Half Technology $2,500 scholarship, only one of two national scholarships awarded based on academic performance, service to club, and service to community. Overall, 10 FVTC students competed at this year's AITP conference.

These accomplishments among some major colleges and universities (listed below) are quite impressive!  Congratulations, students!

2011 Participating Colleges & Universities:

American InterContinental University
Appalachian State University
Arkansas State University
Brigham Young University
Cameron University
Central Michigan University
Chattahoochee Technical College
DeKalb Technical College
DeVry University - Chicago
Eastern Connecticut State University
Eastern Illinois University
Fayetteville Technical Community College
Ferris State University
Florida State College at Jacksonville
Fox Valley Technical College
Gateway Technical College - Kenosha
Gateway Technical College - Racine
Georgia College & State University
Georgia Gwinnett College
Horry-Georgetown Technical College
ITT Technical Institute - Green Bay
James Madison University
Kalamazoo Valley Community College
Kent State University Ashtabula Camp
La Roche College
Madison Area Technical College
Mesa State College
Middle Georgia Technical College
Middle Tennessee State University
Mid-State Technical College-Stevens Point
Midwestern State University
Milwaukee Area Tech College
Missouri State University
Missouri Western State University
New Mexico State University
Northwestern State University
Oakton Community College
Oklahoma Panhandle State University
Penn State College
Purdue University Computer Tech
Quinnipiac University
Roger Williams University
Sam Houston State University
San Antonio College
Scott Community College
Southeast Technical Institute
Southwest Baptist University
St. Mary's University
Tarleton State University
Texas State University - San Marcos
Texas Tech University Lubbock
The University of Texas - Pan American
University of Alaska Anchorage
University of Central Oklahoma
University of Mississippi
University of North Dakota
University of Southern Indiana
University of West Florida
University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
University of Iowa
University of South Florida Polytechnic