Last Page Visited

Accepting Applications: Board of Trustees

Bookmark and Share
Applications Being Accepted for FVTC Board of Trustees

Fox Valley Technical College (FVTC) is accepting applications until 4:00 p.m. on Wednesday, February 29 for three upcoming vacancies on the College’s District Board of Trustees. The openings are for one employer, one employee, and one school district administrator. Each position’s term runs from July 1, 2012 through June 30, 2015.

Richard Recktenwald of Neenah holds the employer member position on the board up for reappointment. He is vice president, Plant Manager of Walker Forge, Inc. in Clintonville. Recktenwald was appointed to the FVTC Board in July, 2009.

Sally Mielke of Appleton holds the employee position on the board up for reappointment. Mielke, a WIAA official, was appointed to the FVTC Board in July, 2000 and currently serves as board treasurer.

William Fitzpatrick holds the school district administrator member position on the board up for reappointment. Fitzpatrick is the Superintendent of Schools for the New London School District. He was appointed to the FVTC Board in September, 2007 and currently serves as board chair.

The FVTC District is governed by a nine-member board comprised of two employers, two employees, three additional (at-large) members, a school district administrator, and an elected official. Each year, the terms for three board posts expire.

Timelines and procedures for the 2012 application process were established by the District’s Board Appointment Committee. The appointment committee is made up of school board presidents from the 28 K-12 districts within FVTC’s service area. According to its guidelines, each applicant must submit a notarized affidavit, resume, and at least two letters of recommendation to Sharon Fenlon, Board Appointment Chairperson, c/o Fox Valley Technical College, P.O. Box 2277, Appleton, WI 54912-2277 before 4:00 p.m. on February 29.

Eligible candidates must reside within the FVTC District, which includes the K-12 school districts of Appleton, Brillion, Chilton, Clintonville, Freedom, Hilbert, Hortonville, Iola-Scandinavia, Kaukauna, Kimberly, Little Chute, Manawa, Marion, Menasha, Neenah, New London, Omro, Oshkosh, Seymour, Shiocton, Stockbridge, Waupaca, Wautoma, Westfield, Weyauwega-Fremont, Wild Rose, Winneconne, and Wrightstown.

Equal consideration is given to the general population distribution within the FVTC District and to the distribution of women and minorities. Prospective applicants are invited to an information session at 5:00 p.m. on Wednesday, February 22 in Room A104S of FVTC’s Appleton Campus, 1825 N. Bluemound Drive (enter through Entrance 1 and follow the signs). Topics will include an overview of FVTC, the role of board members, time commitment, and the application process.

Once the application materials are received, they will be examined to verify candidates’ eligibility and then distributed to the committee members for review. The next step in the process includes a public hearing conducted by the Board Appointment Committee at 6:30 p.m. on Wednesday, March 28 in Room A170 C at FVTC’s Appleton Campus, 1825 N. Bluemound, Appleton. According to state statutes, applicants must be present for appointment consideration. During the hearing, each candidate will make a brief oral presentation not exceeding five minutes and respond to questions from the appointment committee.

Application forms are available by contacting Vicky Van Hout, board appointment coordinator, at (920) 735-5731 or by e-mail at Applicants can also visit to obtain the necessary forms.