FOX VALLEY TECHNICAL COLLEGE DISTRICT Board Meeting Minutes — February 21, 2023

CALL TO ORDER

The Fox Valley Technical College District Board held its meeting on Tuesday, February 21, 2023, at Fox Valley Technical College, 1825 N. Bluemound Drive, Appleton, Wisconsin, Board Room (Room A137), and with virtual access for the public to call in. Chair Chris VanderHeyden called the meeting to order at 4:07 p.m.

Roll Call

Board members present: Tammie DeVooght Blaney, Margaret Kastner, Justin Krueger, Charles Spoehr, Jr., John Weyenberg, Chris VanderHeyden. Absent: Javad Ahmad, Erik Lampe, Patricia Van Ryzin.

Others present included: FVTC President: Dr. Christopher Matheny; Administrators: Elizabeth Burns, Susan Kaufman, Troy Kohl, Dr. Jennifer Lanter, Amy Van Straten; FVTC Staff: Paula Batterman, Scott Borley, Becky Boulanger, Barb Dreger, Bob Ebben, Jin Holewinski, George Hoppen, Jim Kitchen, Susan Lucius, Jennifer McIntosh, Dr. Andy Rinke, Trent Schloss, Dr. Trent Sorensen, Kellie Stegath, Steve Straub, Paul Van Eyck, Dale Walker, Dave Wuestenberg, Guests: Mary Hansen, Chris McDaniel, Dr. Kim Olson, Dr. Trent Sorensen, Brian Wunderlich, Brian Yerkey; Recorder: Sarah Bingham

PUBLIC COMMENT

Chair VanderHeyden opened the meeting for public comments. There were no public comments.

REPORTS

President's Report

Dr. Matheny gave his President's Report which included College updates and the State's perception survey results.

FVTC Foundation Mid-Year Report

Becky Boulanger provided the Foundation mid-year report for 2022-23. Highlights were shared with the Board, including information on analyzing scholarship applications and awards with an equity lens. Dr. Trent Sorensen, Associate Dean of Health, shared impacts of scholarship and program support provided to the Service Division by the Betty Lutes Scholarship.

MONITORING

Performance Monitoring Report - Collaborations with Schools and Colleges

Elizabeth Burns, Dr. Kim Olson, and Mary Hansen presented several highlights of the report. Guests for this topic were Chris McDaniel, Kaukauna School District; Brian Wunderlich, Neenah School District; Brian Yerkey, New London School District.

John Weyenberg left the meeting at 5:37 p.m.

CONSENT AGENDA

Motion - Approve Consent Agenda

Following review, a motion was made by Trustee Kastner to approve the following Consent Agenda items. Upon roll call vote, the motion carried with 5 Ayes: Trustees DeVooght Blaney, Kastner, Krueger, Spoehr, VanderHeyden.

Board Business

- Regular Board Meeting Minutes January 17, 2023
- Board Retreat Minutes February 1, 2023

Instructional Services

- Contract Training & Technical Assistance Monthly Activity Summary
- Grant Proposals Submitted in January 2023
- New Academic Programs Under Development
- Curriculum Modifications for Academic Year 2023-24

Human Resources

Personnel Report

Finance & Facilities

- Budget Variance Analysis
- Expenditures > \$2,500 for Month of January
- Quarterly Investment Performance Summary
- Community Early Center Lease
- IFB #23018 Parent/Child Center Casework Replacement in B106 and B110
- IFB #23019 LED Lighting Upgrade for North/South Parking Lots (Main Campus)
- IFB #23022 eLearning & Technology Solutions Remodel
- IFB #24003 Roofing Replacement at the Main Campus
- Resolution for Remodel eLearning and Technology Solutions

BOARD BUSINESS/REPORTS

Report on ACCT National Legislative Summit

Trustees DeVooght Blaney, Kastner, and Chuck Spoehr shared highlights and observations from the ACCT National Legislative Summit they recently attended.

Upcoming Board Appointment Meeting

Chair VanderHeyden provided an update on the status of Board positions and the annual Board Appointment Meeting scheduled for March 6.

ADJOURN TO CLOSED SESSION

A motion was made by Trustee VanderHeyden to adjourn to closed session pursuant to Section 19.85(1)(c), *Wis. Stats.*, to discuss the President's performance evaluation. The time was 5:46 p.m. Upon roll call vote, the motion carried with 5 Ayes: Trustees DeVooght Blaney, Kastner, Krueger, Spoehr, VanderHeyden.

RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION

A motion was made by Trustee DeVooght Blaney to reconvene into open session pursuant to Section 19.85(2), *Wis. Stats.* The time was 5:58 p.m. Upon roll call vote, the motion carried with 5 Ayes: Trustees DeVooght Blaney, Kastner, Krueger, Spoehr, VanderHeyden.

ADJOURN

There being no further business to come before the District Board, Chair VanderHeyden declared the meeting adjourned. The time was 5:59 p.m.

•	Justin Krueger, Secretary	