By completing the FAFSA, you will be considered for the Federal Stafford Loan program. Direct Loans are funded by the U.S. Department of Education through your college and are managed by a loan servicer. There are two types of Federal Stafford Loans: Direct Subsidized Loans and Direct Unsubsidized Loans. Find the details about both programs to make an informed decision about funding your college education. Fox Valley Technical College's most recent Cohort Default Rate (CDHR) is 7.2%, compared to the national average of 11.5% for 2-year public institutions.  Approximately 15% of eligible students accept and receive loans.

Direct Subsidized Loans

Your eligibility for the Direct Subsidized Loan is based on your financial need and your undergraduate academic level. Repayment is deferred until six months after you graduate or cease to be enrolled at least half-time, and the government pays the interest while you are enrolled in school. Direct Subsidized Loan maximums vary according to academic level and dependency status. In addition, there are lifetime loan limits.

Direct Unsubsidized Loans

Your eligibility for the Direct Unsubsidized Loan is not based on financial need. You may borrow the cost of education minus all other financial aid you receive, up to the Direct Loan maximum for your academic level. The interest on the Direct Unsubsidized Loan accrues from the date of disbursement. You have two choices for paying interest: you may pay it while you are enrolled full-time, or it can accrue and become part of the principal that you will owe. You begin making payments six months after you graduate or cease to be enrolled at least half time.


Direct Loans are low-interest loans to help you pay for the cost of your education after high school. The lender is the U.S. Department of Education, though most of the contact will be with the financial aid office at Fox Valley Tech. 

See Current Interest Rates

The Fox Valley Technical College 3-year Cohort Default Rate is 18.9%

Dependency Status

Dependency is not based on your age, but on a series of questions that you answer on the FAFSA. Dependent students must provide both student and parent information on the FAFSA.

Learn More

Loan Limits

Maximum Federal Direct Loan amounts vary according to academic level and dependency status. There is also a maximum lifetime limit that you can borrow in Direct Loans. Once you reach these loan limits, you cannot borrow Direct Loans until the loans are paid down.

View Loan Limits

If you are an independent student, you may request additional loan funds by filling out the Additional Loan Request form. If you request more than your eligibility allows, the loan will be certified to your maximum eligibility.

Loan Requirements

If you are a first-time Direct Loan borrower, you must complete an electronic Master Promissory Note and electronic Loan Entrance Counseling before you can receive funds.

You are also required to complete Direct Loan Exit Counseling when you graduate or leave Fox Valley Technical College. During the exit counseling session, you will review your rights and responsibilities as a borrower.

Starting in the 2021-22 school year, the Dept of Education will require all student loan borrowers and Parent PLUS loan borrowers to complete the Annual Student Loan Acknowledgment every school year at

Complete Loan Requirements

Loan Repayment

The Direct Loan program offers a variety of loan repayment plans. You can choose your repayment plan when you begin repayment and can switch your plan if your needs change.

To find out more about repayment options before receiving a Direct Loan, you may call the Federal Student Aid Information Center at 1-800-4-FED-AID (1-800-433-3243). If you currently have a Direct Loan and would like the exact payment amount on your loan, contact your loan servicer.

Visit the Federal Student Aid website to view information about all of the federal student loans you have received and to find contact information for the loan servicer or lender for your loans.

You will need your Federal Student Aid ID and password to access your information.

Learn More About Loan Repayment